Far From The City of New and Shiny

It’s the farthest I’ve lived from a city,
Between Sunrise and Sunset,
Where the rays of dawn paint
The tree trunks orange
In the backyard,
Where the sundown outlines
my bare shoulders
Through my windows
In a fiery glow
And I open my arms wide and high
Like the branches of the trees,
Embracing the light.

It’s the farthest I’ve lived from the city.
But at the same time not so much
That I’m completely disassociated,
But breathing and grounded.
In a world where everything is new and shiny
I’ve finally found a place
Where wear and tear of time
Are visible on walls and balconies
Despite the relative novelty.
And so life is slower – but still time is not.

This is the farthest I’ve ever lived from a city.
The most I’ve been surrounded with trees
In my path everyday,
Grass and sand crisp under my feet,
just as abundant as concrete.
I thought I came here to shed old skin,
But perhaps I’ve come here
To embrace my nature instead
Or maybe that’s part of the grand scheme.
I’ll know for sure when it’s time to leave again one day…

Leave a comment